Breaking News: Kisumu To Host Africities Summit November 16-21, 2021.


Eda Chepkosgei retains title as newcomer wins men’s race during Kisumu County National Marathon

Last year’s Safaricom Ladies Winner, Edna Jepkoskey from Kapsabet defended her title with ease after she clocked two hours forty two minutes and forty four, four minutes shy of the time she clocked last year to win the Kisumu Safaricom Marathon in a sunny atmosphere.

The Edinburg May winner and Poulmoth United States October winner said:

“The weather was too hot that slowed my pace, last year the weather was not this humid, the race was also very competitive as many runners tuned up for the race,” said Jepkoskey.

Eda Chepkosgei from Kapsabet tops the women category in the Safaricom, Kisumu marathon.

Both men and women winners walked home Sh300, 000 richer, as runners up took Sh200, 000, third overall walked away with Sh100, 000.

Athletes participate in the Safaricom Kisumu marathon.

Athletes participate in the Safaricom Kisumu marathon.

In the men category first time winner Elkana Yego from Trans Nzoia who clocked two hours, seventeen minutes and thirty seconds to win his inaugural Marathon.

Yego has participated in Otawa Canada Marathon, but this was his inaugural win. He said “The sun was too humid that made the weather tough, the organization was however up to par.”

Elkana Yego from Trans-Nzoia County emerges victorious in the Safaricom, Kisumu marathon. He is currently being trained Wesley Korir.

The Wheelchair Category was won by this year’s Standard Chartered Marathon winner, Sylvester Baraza who made his first stab in the 42-km race in Kisumu and clocked 2:25:15.

“This was my first time in Kisumu Marathon, I won the Standard Chartered Marathon and came here to try my luck, I am happy that I won,” said Baraza.

Sylvester Baraza emerges the winner of the just concluded Safaricom, Kisumu Marathon.

The second position in the men category was won by Abraham Too from Nandi who timed 2:25:41 followed by Jackson Gumo from Uasin Gishu who clocked 2:28:30

George Onyancha from Kisii clocked 2:30:25 for the fourth position as Samson Bor clocked 2:32:14 To return fifth overall.

Number two in the ladies category was Shelmik Miriuki from Machakos in 2:44:47, followed by Sylvia Tanui from Uasin Gishu who clocked 2:45:06

Fourth overall was Gladys Kiprotich from Elgeyo Marakwet in 2:50:54, as Purity Kimeto clocked 2:56:30 to return the fifth overall.

The tricycle second category was won by Nicholas Mungai who clocked 2:36:34, as Pascal Otieno clocked 2:41:50 for the third category.

Fourth overall was George Seda from Kisumu who timed 2:42:23 as David Oloo also from Kisumu clocked 2:52:52 to return fifth overall.

Ladies tricycle category was won by Jane Kerubo also of Nairobi who clocked 3:08:04

About author

Lover of life, food and travel. Fell in love with Kisumu and has never looked back.
Related posts

Uganda Cranes Names their Elgon Cup Travelling Party


Seconds and Pazani To Take Charge of Elgon Cup Fixtures


Much Awaited Elgon Cup In Kisumu Kickoff Times Confirmed


Kisumu's Knight Otwoma Makes Elgon Cup Provisional Squad

Sign up for our Newsletter and
stay informed

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.