Newbie Rally Driver Joe Kariuki Vrooms despite car difficulties

The upcoming rally ace Joe kariuki navigated by John Ngugi tackled the most toughest rally in the world with no breaks for 3 days as veteran Edward Maina navigated by Steven mbuthia take Group S safari trophy.

Despite the hurdles and break problems, Team Joe finished the race
Despite the hurdles and break problems, Team Joe finished the race
It was not an easy terrain for the newbie Joe.
It was not an easy terrain for the newbie Joe.
Joe Kariuki cruising past a spectators stage
Joe Kariuki cruising past a spectators stage

Joe Kariuki/John Ngugi driving a Subaru Impreza N11, clocked 3.32.14. Joe started number 38/43, finally managed to clinch position 18/43.

The Delamere Ranch leg of the race proved to be such a tough terrain, making many established names fall out in the early stages of the race. The likes of Baldev Chager, Quentin Mitchell (who had a broken rear shock), Tajveer Rai (lost brakes), Issa Amwari (gearbox problems), Jansher Sandhu (bell housing issues) and Karan Patel (had a minor accident), were all forced to bid the competition goodbye at that early stage.

Kisumu-based rally driver – Jaspreeth Chatte won the leg.

Below is the standings list:

  1. 1.Jaspreet Chatthe/Gurdeep Panesar (Mitsubishi Evo10), 2hrs.21.49
  2. Rajbir Rai/Greg Stead (Ford Fiesta) 2.24.09
  3. Tapio Laukkanen/Pasi Torma (Subaru Impreza) 2.30.38
  4. Ian Duncan/Amaar Slatch (Mitsubishi Evo10) 2.31.42
  5. Carl Tundo/Jessop (Mitsubishi Evo10) 2.32.49
  6. Onkar Rai /Gareth Dawe (Mitsubishi Evo10) 2.34.03
  7. Farhaaz Khan/Keith Henrie (Mitsubishi Evo9) 2.47.59
  8. Eric Njogu /Tony Kimondo (Subaru IMpreza N10) 2.49.29
  9. Mahesh Halai /Ketan Halai (Subaru Impreza N12) 2.55.47
  10. Asad Khan/Harshil Limbani (Subaru Impreza GC8) 2.56.52
  11. Natasha Tundo/Chantal Young (Subaru Impreza) 3.07.21
  12. Edward Maina/Steve Mbuthia (Subaru Impreza GC8) 3.16.43
  13. Osman Abdullahi/Evans Mwenda (Subaru Impreza N10) 3.19.23
  14. Chandrakant Devji/Julius Mwachuya (Subaru Impreza GC8) 3.22.19
  15. Adil Mirza/Kashif Shaikh (Mitsubishi Evo9) 3.23.41
  16. Alex Lairang’i/Anthony Gichohi (Toyota Corolla) 3.26.02
  17. Ramesh Vishram/Riyaz Ismail (Ford Escort) 3.31.12
  18. Joe Kariuki/John Ngugi (Subaru Impreza N11) 3.32.14
  19. Geoff Mayes/Jamie Mactavish (Range Rover) 3.36.12
  20. Nikhil Sachania/Salim Khan (Fiat Abarth) 3.48.27
  21. Leonardo Varese /Kigondu Kareithi (Toyota Corolla) 4.44.27.
Have anything else to add? Write it below:



You May Also Like

Sendy in Kisumu

Last weekend a couple of Kisumu residents got free rides to events and also ...

Talanta Awards Talent Search Comes to Kisumu

Jubilee Christian Church Kisumu together with Talanta Awards USA will be hosting a Talent ...

Green Tourism Summit 2016

  Our ability to laugh at ourselves as a country must be our greatest ...

Before Ngware, Olwenda and Peng’

Every so often the news headlines will have something to the effect of “residents ...

Kenya Power and Safaricom to connect homes to the Internet

Kenya Power, through its subsidiary Kenya Power International, and Safaricom Limited, have today signed ...

Four Lucky People Win Cars in Christmas Grand Draw Held in Kisumu

Rana Auto Selection rewarded four customers with brand-new cars in a competition dubbed ‘Rana ...